Diaz Concepts

bAMACANE

Sophomore
By no means am I a defensive guru, however I just don't understand this about Diaz's defense. This alignment is from yesterday's game. Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 8.19.21 PM.jpg

If I'm a competent OC I'm taking advantage of this all day.

For comparisons, here's a screenshot of the FSU game last year that resulted in a touchdown.I remember screaming "cover the slot" before the ball even snapped. Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 8.23.04 PM.jpg

Anyways, just wanted to get some insight. Yesterday's game had plenty of these!

Advertisement
I'm no defensive expert either, but my guess is that he's relying on the safety here to come up to help cover the slot while relying on pressure from the linebacker blitzing to force a bad throw

I'm no defensive expert either, but my guess is that he's relying on the safety here to come up to help cover the slot while relying on pressure from the linebacker blitzing to force a bad throw

Its a pretty unsound way to play defense against a quick pass spread team.

He's so concerned with his cutesy zone blitzes when his best result are in his base 2-read scheme.

If stuff like this doesn't get fixed it'll be a long season .... I am pretty embarrassed about yesterday's game but trying to stay positive so we'll see

I don't remember the play exactly, but did the LB drop back to cover underneath and the safety cover the top? Confuse the QB by thinking LB blitz and then have him drop back would make the most sense to me judging by the way they lined up.

Advertisement
Noticed this to. Why does every DC we hire has some sort of dumb deficiency?

Randy S. head coach defenses - couldn't disguise coverage and to simplified. Always ran Tampa 2 or Coverage 2.
Coach no D - lined up our CB and Safety in Hialeah and never blitzed. Never allowed players to make plays and benched them if they did. Read and React BS.