Marty Brown TD that wasn't

Advertisement
The issue I have, they blew the whistle when he was running free at the 40. At a minimum, they should have huddled up and concluded that the play was whistled dead with the runner at the 40 vs 45. Assuming the same 6 yards to end the drive likely gets the FG unit out from the 34.
 
Late to the party but if the refs told Mario they blew the call then he definitely didn’t see the helmet
 
Didn't a player's helmet come off? I wonder I that might have caused it, because he was nowhere near down. Did a defender even touch him?

The rule is the play continues unless the ball carriers helmet comes off. Otherwise a player on the other side of the field could take off his own helmet to stop a breakaway TD.

If the non ball carrier loses his helmet and continues participating, he gets flagged for “illegal participation” and has to leave for one play unless the helmet came off due to the opponents foul.

So the fact that no flag was thrown means that’s not what the ref saw since the player (Samson?) was still participating in the scrum. and adding to that, based on the photo posted earlier, there was no way to physically disengage since he was surrounded, meaning it still wouldn’t have been a penalty on Miami. If anything it would have been a penalty on UF as you can clearly see the UF player pushed the helmet off (he has his forearm in Samson’s face).
 
Last edited:
The issue I have, they blew the whistle when he was running free at the 40. At a minimum, they should have huddled up and concluded that the play was whistled dead with the runner at the 40 vs 45. Assuming the same 6 yards to end the drive likely gets the FG unit out from the 34.

I think it should be subject to a coach’s challenge, where it goes upstairs to determine if a players progress had stopped or if it was an early whistle. If it is determined to have been an early whistle, the team gets the ball where it was blown dead and a free down. Doesn’t give back the TD but at least gives a free down as a make up call.
 
The rule is the play continues unless the ball carriers helmet comes off. Otherwise a player on the other side of the field could take off his own helmet to stop a breakaway TD.

If the non ball carrier loses his helmet and continues participating, he gets flagged for “illegal participation” and has to leave for one play unless the helmet came off due to the opponents foul.

So the fact that no flag was thrown means that’s not what the ref saw since the player (Samson?) was still participating in the scrum. and adding to that, based on the photo posted earlier, there was no way to physically disengage since he was surrounded, meaning it still wouldn’t have been a penalty on Miami. If anything it would have been a penalty on UF as you can clearly see the UF player pushed the helmet off (he has his forearm in Samson’s face).
Rules often mean little to flags thrown on us.
 
Advertisement
I’ve rewatched this play about 50 times now and I gotta say, beyond being one of the worst calls I’ve ever seen…

Not sure a group of offensive linemen have collectively dominated a defense the way ours did on that play

The left side of the line just collapses. Bell just moved the entire pile to the right while SJ, Ryan Rodriguez (pretty sure) and McCoy blow up the entire spot

A real shame it got called back in so many ways that was pure punishment
 
not trying to be a contrarian, but Okonlola lost his helmet during the play and the ref that blew the whistle was staring at the pile and saw it. i wonder if the blew the whistle because of it. i don't know. i think they ****ed it up anyways and they robbed us of a TD.

see below



View attachment 336830
Not the case, helmets came off every drive. It only applies if the ball carriers helmet comes off
 
I’ve rewatched this play about 50 times now and I gotta say, beyond being one of the worst calls I’ve ever seen…

Not sure a group of offensive linemen have collectively dominated a defense the way ours did on that play

The left side of the line just collapses. Bell just moved the entire pile to the right while SJ, Ryan Rodriguez (pretty sure) and McCoy blow up the entire spot

A real shame it got called back in so many ways that was pure punishment

Add the whistle was blown with him running 5 yards downfield and they moved the ball back 5 yards! Incredibly bad officiating. Can you not review for the spot at the time of the whistle?
 
Back
Top