Off-Topic The Car Thread

SpikeUM

Head Meshuggah
Premium
Advertisement
I am a car buff, and I suspect a number of you are here. I wasnt interested in buying this car, but curious to see why they think they can get $300K for it.

I think that’s outrageously priced. Plus version 1.0? That’s always a huge risk.

Advertisement
A hybrids range sucks, and the technology will be outdated in the not too distant future, so unless you get the $7500 credit, I would stay away.
I have a hybrid Sienna. It gets 35 mpg and has a range of 550 miles on gas. It would be nice if I could charge it overnight and increase that.

Advertisement
I generally lease, because I like to have a new car every few years. In fact, I often take over a lease so that my holding period is much less than 3 years.

Yeah as soon as I posted that I thought maybe you had leased it. Since I have zero experience in buying/leasing from Tesla, I didn’t know what they had available in terms of purchase/lease.

Yeah as soon as I posted that I thought maybe you had leased it. Since I have zero experience in buying/leasing from Tesla, I didn’t know what they had available in terms of purchase/lease.
As I indicated, prices are up 50%+, so I would wait for the recession at this point.

Advertisement
Can small be beautiful for EV batteries?
Spurred on by Tesla, most rich-world electric vehicle makers have been competing to squeeze more driving range out of their battery packs. The $87,400-and-up Lucid Air luxury EV has a top range of 520 miles between charges - currently best in the business, unless Mercedes delivers a production version of the 600+ mile prototype it has been driving around Europe. A more affordable Tesla Model Y Long Range is rated at 318 miles between charges.

A range of 300+ miles serves as the benchmark for being taken seriously in the United States and Europe and for more affluent consumers in China - because combustion vehicles offer that much range, and usually more, between fill-ups.