ErdbebenCane
Freshman
- Joined
- Mar 18, 2021
- Messages
- 305
With the 3rd down being over, wouldn't any penalty be considered a "dead-ball" foul? I do not ever remember an offense going from 4th down to 3rd down because the defense was assessed a penalty. There is no rule for this. Downs are sequential and progress one through four. You can replay a down or it can be reset to one as a result of a penalty. An offense can loose a down as a result of a penalty. Downs can't reverse in count downwards.It was 3rd and 14, the result of the play was an incomplete pass so it went to 4th and 14, but with the penalty the 3rd down was replayed. It was correct.
Someone please correct or provide an example. I feel like I need to rewatch this series again to confirm what I thought I saw during the game.