SI story: Clemson sign stealing

Advertisement
Clemson plays for the Natty every year. We (and any team serious about winning) should be doing this. Instead we have analysts to track the "spontaneous positive reaction to teammate success."

Who says we are not doing this? I don’t think you, nor I actually know.

The difference with Clemson is their massive budget and the massive staff they have assigned to do just this.

Advertisement
Clemson plays for the Natty every year. We (and any team serious about winning) should be doing this. Instead we have analysts to track the "spontaneous positive reaction to teammate success."
As a baseball coach I can tell you every team does it. Why do you think they have multiple guys and cards to signal in signs? So its harder to steal them. If Clemson is better at it you need to change your signs. I have a couple football coach buddies and they can tell you the play ( run or pass) by watching the O line. Its part of the game. Now video taping is a different story.

I was about to remark, good luck stealing signs against team like Bama and Clemson with their dozens of 'analysts'.

We obviously try to steal signs - I would guess just like everyone else. Otherwise not every single football team in the country would have those big signs with pictures of hamburgers or people or different things.

So yeah, just like I said before, the difference is the number of people you have allocated to be able to match up different tendencies and sideline demeanors, as well as the sign themselves, to different plays. That requires a lot of man hours, and man hours require money, an asset which is not equal across-the-board

We obviously try to steal signs - I would guess just like everyone else. Otherwise not every single football team in the country would have those big signs with pictures of hamburgers or people or different things.