- Joined
- Dec 16, 2011
- Messages
- 4,538
Scott's catch should have been good.Incomplete Pass
ARTICLE 7. a. Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds
by rule (Rule 4-2-3) or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by
a player. It also is incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the
pass but first lands on or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been
stopped in the field of play or end zone (Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-4-3-III and A.R.
7-3-7-I).
b. When a legal forward pass is incomplete, the ball belongs to the passing
team at the previous spot.
c. When an illegal forward pass is incomplete, the ball belongs to the passing
team at the spot of the pass (Exception: If Team B declines the penalty for
an illegal pass thrown from the end zone, the ball shall next be put in play
at the previous spot.) (A.R. 7-3-7-II-III).
When we played FLorida with JAcory the gator WR did the same thing and gave them a complete pass
I remember that now...the game in Gainesville in 2008. We hung with them tight (I think it was 9-3 in the 4th quarter) and the refs reviewing the call of incomplete pass and giving them that catch was what essentially opened the floodgates in that game.
2008 Game Non-Catch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRiKT5TyVvc