OT: NBA needs to get rid of the '1 and done' rule..

WndyCityCane

Recruit
..after watching Zion Williamson hurt his knee last night, potentially costing him millions upon millions of potential dollars, why do we have the '1 and done' rule for these kids that should be drafted out of high school?

I'm a software developer. If i'm 14 and could care less about going to MIT and there is some company willing to pay me a billion dollars for an app I wrote, I don't have to wait until i'm 19 or after a year in college. It's ridiculous!

The NCAA is much about the cash and not so much about 'student athletes' in my opinion. How much did Nike get paid to have their shoe fail on this kid? If his knee is shot, where's the recourse? A free education makes it all good?

Let the kids into the NBA whenever they want. If they declare and don't get drafted, let 'em play college ball for a year or until they graduate. '1 and Done' should be 'Done'.

I'm also an advocate for paying college football and basketball players - revenue generating sports. Legalize it and allow these kids to earn a living while they make millions for the institutions the represent.

go CANES!!

Advertisement
I've always said this but they also have mad kids who would go feom HS and be a bust and then what? Some guys aren't ready and will make a bad decision so yes end the one and done but some guys will fail because of that

It’s better for the NBA. The quality of play has gone up now that GMs get a better evaluation. The HS era was terrible. For every LeBron, there are three Darius Miles.

That’s a separate issue than whether it’s fair or not. But the league needs to what’s best for the league. The healthier the game is, the better off the players are as a whole.