McLaughlin leverages high upside into third UM visit in two months

View as article

Stefan Adams

Managing Editor
Premium
There might not be a more intriguing prospect that the Miami Hurricanes are after in the 2021 class than Michael McLaughlin.

For one, although he is a current Florida resident, he is a complete novice when it comes to the South Florida area. After playing his sophomore season at Danville High up in Indiana, McLaughlin recently made the move to South Florida in late May and enrolled at Marjory Stoneman Douglas in Parkland.

“My sophomore season at Danville in Indiana went really well, I was our starting defensive end and last year was when I was able to make the adjustment from JV to Varsity and got used to the increase in the speed of the game,” McLaughlin said. “We had a relatively inexperienced team, but it was a great season and we got after it day after day at practice.”

The 6-8, 255 pound defensive end and tight end was still looking for his first college offer, but, in early June, he nabbed a scholarship in an unexpected way. While he was attending a Manny Diaz camp and participating in 7-on-7 play as a tight end with his team, OL coach Butch Barry pulled him aside and asked him to workout with the offensive linemen in OL/DL drills. Soon after, he had an offer from the Hurricanes as an offensive lineman.

“When I initially got my offer, it was just kind of hard to comprehend because of how I went from a tight end with no looks in Indiana to receiving an offer for a position I’ve never played from one of the most elite schools in the nation,” McLaughlin said. “I found out after the camp when coach Barry pulled me aside for some individual drills and had a conversation with me afterwards.”