Experts: I Got a Real Question

UMFarArcher

All-ACC
I watched out Defense - which wasn't bad - but got burned a lot today by loose QB's, Inside slants, and just looked a bit slow.

Question: Could this partly be due to the fact that our DC is very good, our LB Co-Defensive Coach is a legend - and were heavy in the SEC YEARS ago, BUT is this new spread offense we're seeing widespread today something more or less since developed BEFORE they made their chops?

In other words - are these modern spread offenses a thing they're "reacting" to? Something a bit out of their strengths?

I just didn't see many adjustments.

Advertisement
No, we just have slow LB’ers, who also take bad angles at times. We also had some issues with losing contain. Most of the issues can get cleaned up, but the LB’ers are gonna be a problem unless some of these young pups grow up quick.

I'm no expert...that's first...but I do watch A TON of football.

Wasn't Kevin Steele at Auburn when they played Burrow in Auburn?

If my memory serves me well, they were the only defense to hold them under 30pts....if Steele hadn't seen it before, he certainly seen it and seen it all that game.

I think Steele didn't show much today....

I think it’s just cuz our players aren’t very good esp the starters they’re just avg aka jags
Avg players give up plays here and there
Their too limited
Even Caleb looked avg
When the back ups got in
It got better bc their physically more athletic

Advertisement
Advertisement
No, we just have slow LB’ers, who also take bad angles at times. We also had some issues with losing contain. Most of the issues can get cleaned up, but the LB’ers are gonna be a problem unless some of these young pups grow up quick.
The contain thing is real. I am no expert but I noticed it.

Inside slants can be negated by alignment and physicality. And our pass rushers will learn how to contain and not push beyond the dual threat QBs.

Advertisement