Duke Stadium Inquiry

Advertisement
I graduated from Duke in 16, they have definitely remodeled the place since then and now most of the seats have backs. They kick out all of the student cars in the blue lot so that those going to the football game have more parking (honestly **** this policy, I got my car towed twice bc of it, but i digress). I'm fairly certain that the parking is free.

Theres not a huge tailgate culture at Duke with football because the administration completely shut it down for a couple of years in like 2011 because some student's sibling got sloshed and ended up in a porty potty or some ****, at least that was the rumor on campus. On the whole, Durham sucks though. Couple of nicer places downtown have opened up, but you won't catch many students there, most of the undergrad population never ventures out past Shooters.

Also the WaDuke (The Washington) is Duke's on campus hotel that caters to the fathers of trust fund kids. Everything is wildly overpriced, but you can golf though if that's your sort of thing. I would definitely recommend staying in other places downtown.

On the whole, Durham sucks though. Couple of nicer places downtown have opened up, but you won't catch many students there, most of the undergrad population never ventures out past Shooters.

Guess it all depends on what you’re looking for.

The food and drink scene in Durham is pretty **** good...better than just a “couple nicer places downtown.” It’s constantly getting written up in The NY Times, Bon Appetit, and all sorts of other publications. Music scene is good if you’re into indie, jazz, hip hop or R&B. Plenty of live music venues, bars, and good breweries.

If you’re looking for undergrad bars/clubs and a big South Florida nightlife scene, yeah you’re not gonna dig it here too much.

Last edited: