Blades named captain for Toledo, shares thoughts on football and family

View as article

Stefan Adams

Managing Editor
Premium
Freshman corner Al Blades Jr. came into Miami during the summer and has quickly earned the trust of the coaching staff in a few short months, showing out on both defense and special teams. This week, he was honored by being named the special teams captain for the Toledo game and he elaborated on what that meant for him.

“It means a lot. A lot of blood, sweat, and tears being shed out here,” Blades said. “We come out and work every day. It is an honor to be honored in such a great way. It is very emotional for me. You grow up watching everything and to be out there as a captain at the University of Miami is something big for me.

“I found out while out here (at practice). I had no idea what was going on. [Mark Richt] was just naming captains and me being a freshman, I wasn’t really expecting my name to be called. But he called my name and I was still in just disbelief. I went around practice asking, ‘Does that mean I’m going to be a captain?’”

Earlier in fall camp, Blades was singled out by coach Richt for his effort and competitiveness every day in practice and it’s clear he’s carried that over to game days after he was named the youngest captain ever since Richt has been in Miami, according to Todd Hartley yesterday.

“I just give 110% every play,” Blades said. “Whether it is on kick off or on punt, every play, we watch film and you see me, I just try to be the first guy down the field. I try to be the first to the ball, no matter what it is, even tackle to the floor. I just try to get to the ball. No matter what it is, I just give all my effort.”

Blades’ is story is well-known by most Hurricanes’ fans by now: son of the late great safety Al Blades, the younger Blades comes from a family of Canes’ royalty, which also includes his uncles Bennie and Brian, who starred for UM in the 80’s.