2021 Recruiting Class Countdown: The Top 10

View as article

Lance Roffers

Junior
Miami signed 21 players in the early signing period and it looks to be a really strong class. Everyone loves a list, so I decided to watch a full game of every recruit and then rank them. A few caveats: 1. I’m not ranking the kicker, because frankly, I’m not a kicker expert. Safe to say he’s a great kicking prospect and he probably starts as a freshman. 2. Someone has to populate every spot on the list. Someone has to be last. Someone has to be 17th etc. This is a good recruiting class and some good recruits are going in at these lower rankings. 3. I’ve been wrong before and some of the players ranked at the bottom will prove me wrong and some at the top probably will as well.

Methodology
  • Linear Speed- How fast is the recruit in a straight line compared to other P5 prospects at that same position. Corey Flagg would be a 5 for linear speed at ILB etc.
  • Agility- Ability to change directions compared to other P5 prospects at that same position. DJ Ivey would be a 5 for agility at CB.
  • Frame- Prospects frame compared to other P5 prospects at that same position. Nesta Silvera would be a 5 for frame at DT.
  • Potential- With average development in a P5 program, what is the ultimate potential of a prospect compared to other P5 prospects at that same position. N’Kosi Perry would be a 5 for potential at QB.

10. Michael McLaughlin- OT, 6-7, 290, Stoneman Douglas (Pompano Beach, FL) #338 (4-star)

Linear Speed- 9, Agility- 7, Frame- 10, Potential- 7

Strengths: He’s another in TE converts to the OL who have held their initial quickness and speed as they’ve added weight. There is a 10 on his frame because he has perfect, height, length, and build to get to 320 pounds and still move.

For a 6-7 OL he can actually bend at his knees and has flexibility. Is able to roll his hips and engage on down blocks and actually move people.