What this means

I'm man enough to admit, I just teared up (again) rewatching the celebration after the game. While Coach is being interviewed they show Reggie and Durand hugging and Durand is balling his eyes out. I'm so freaking proud of this team, and I can't believe this is the same program I used to watch play in front of 1,000 people at the Knight Center, or go 0-18 in the Big East in front of 500 people at the Miami Arena. For those who just jumped on board this year, please stick around. For those that have suffered with me for the last 5, 10, 15, 20+ years, I know you can relate to everything I started this post with.

Now let's WIN THE ENTIRE THING

You and I used to go at it during the Fat Head years ... I was there with you with Popa and Co. watching really bad basketball when I was a student at UM in the late 80's. I played high school ball in North Carolina against teams like Christ School and Laurenburg Institute during the dominance of UNC and Duke on a national level ... I made sure my son watched UM win their first ACC championship today! I was misty as well! It's a Cane Thing!

Advertisement
I remember going to the Miami Arena and watching us fail to come out of a time out and Pitt or BC, can't remember which team, in bound the ball, easy lay up and we lost. Pretty mad that night. Pretty happy today though.

I remember me and a few other dudes forming a group we called the "Hoop Heads". We cut basketballs in half and put mini hoops on top. We waltzed into Hamilton's office and pitched this crazy idea to increase student attendance. Man, all those years of the once a year spoiler possibility, and now this. ******* Awesome. No Words.