Official "Our administration doesn't give a flying F about football"

Not open for further replies.
Nov 3, 2011
Personal attacks
Again, show me the day Miami fans financially support this program the way alumni from state schools break out the checkbooks in droves—and you'll see an administration forced to build a football factory and winner.

Georgia just dumped $200,000,000 into their program—year two after Kirby was hired; losing a national championship and an SEC title—as they're way to get a competitive advantage on Alabama. Recruiting budget was raised to $7M annually; most in the nation now — and much of this is being DRIVEN by alumni dollars.

They signed up, 1,100+ new members to their Magill Society in 2018; each member on the hook for AT LEAST $25K—totaling $27,500,000 minimum.

Miami barely has a stadium 2/3 full and has fans threatening to boycott games, while running GoFundMe campaigns to fly dumb banners.

Y'all keep arguing in circles here, but never address the fact that as a private school with a small alumni base and fan base mostly made up of people who didn't attend UM, you simply don't get the financial support and backing the way you do those who are the alum of a university.

Most fans follow the Canes like a pro sports franchise and just check out / put their interests elsewhere when the team is garbage—whereas alum of these football factories have power in money and monster donations that will sway the direction things go.

No, Miami isn't hat-in-hand and a poor program—but there is a massive difference between state schools with 40K undergrads every year and massive alumni basis that donate money, versus a private school with about 12K undergrads, in a diverse, metropolitan city / non-college town. Night and day.

The admin will "care" when more people stop shouting on message boards and actually do something with their wallets.


Dec 22, 2011
Hilarie Bass

Vice Chairs
David L. Epstein
William L. Morrison

Senior Members
Betty G. Amos
Jose P. Bared
Fred Berens
Charles E. Cobb
Edward A. Dauer
George Feldenkreis
Phillip Frost
Phillip T. George
Rose Ellen Greene
Arva Moore Parks
Jorge M. Pérez
Ronald G. Stone
Patricia W. Toppel
David R. Weaver
G. Ed Williamson II

Regular Members
Leonard Abess
Hilarie Bass
Jon Batchelor
Tracey P. Berkowitz
Marc A. Buoniconti
Alfred R. Camner
Wayne E. Chaplin
Adriana Cisneros
Leah Colucci 2
Paul J. DiMare
Joseph J. Echevarria, Jr.
David L. Epstein
Richard D. Fain
Miguel B. Fernandez
Barbara Hecht Havenick
Allan M. Herbert
Marilyn J. Holifield
Manuel Kadre
Marcus Lemonis
Jayne Sylvester Malfitano
Marilu Marshall 1
Stuart A. Miller
William L. Morrison
Judi Prokop Newman
Aaron S. Podhurst
Lois Pope
Alex E. Rodríguez
Steven J. Saiontz
Robert E. Sanchez
Marvin R. Shanken 1
Laurie S. Silvers
H. T. Smith, Jr.
Jacquelyn R. Soffer
E. Roe Stamps, IV
Johnny C. Taylor, Jr.
Ana VeigaMilton
Jonathan Vilma
Geisha Jimenez Williams 1

Ex-Officio Members
Frank R. Jimenez
Immediate Past President,
Alumni Association

Julio Frenk
University of Miami

Kourtney Gibson
Alumni Association

Devang Desai
Alumni Association

Roberta L. Jacoby
Citizens Board

Eric Todd Levin
Immediate Past President,
Citizens Board

Ana VeigaMilton
Citizens Board

Emeriti Members
Michael I. Abrams
Adrienne Arsht
M. Anthony Burns
Paul L. Cejas
Laura G. Coulter-Jones
Carlos M. de la Cruz, Sr.
Edward W. Easton
Gloria M. Estefan
Enrique C. Falla, Sr.
Alfonso Fanjul
Peter T. Fay
David I. Fuente
Thelma V.A. Gibson
Bernard J. Kosar, Jr.
Fredric G. Reynolds
Eduardo M. Sardiña
Frank P. Scruggs
Steven Sonberg
Gonzalo F. Valdes-Fauli
Marta S. Weeks-Wulf
Frances L. Wolfson
Thomas D. Wood, Sr.

Secretary to the Board of Trustees
Leslie Dellinger Aceituno

1 Alumni Representative
2 Student Trustee

Effective June 19, 2019
Not open for further replies.