Need a little help - can someone explain to me...

MainLineCane said:
Actually it's very simple.....the actual NCAA rulebook states

"When a Notre Dame player does something that would otherwise be called a penalty ..in South Bend, in their home stadium...no matter how obvious or blatant...it shall NOT result in a penalty"

I'm really quite surprised that you did not already know this




It's called the "Luck of the Irish" rule
Yep, I am Irish myself and grew up in an all Irish hood. All my friends were dormers growing up an I would get on to them about it all the time. They could never respond much. They knew it.
 
Last edited:
Advertisement
Have to see the whole play from start to finish. If the blocker engaged the defender from the front and maintained contact through the block this wouldn't be a block in the back. Initial contact has to actually be in the back.

You’re kidding, right?

Watch the replay
 
This is like when our player is pantsed by Wisconsin in the end zone before an interception 2 years ago.

Penalties are subjective.
 
nope, I have been officiating for now 13yrs. The screenshot shown does show the play from start to finish. If the block starts in the front and the blocker never disengages, its not a block in the back. Initial contact has to be in the back

I saw the replay multiple times. The ND player ran up behind the UVA player. Then pushed him. Is there a loophole for that?
 
Advertisement
I saw the replay multiple times. The ND player ran up behind the UVA player. Then pushed him. Is there a loophole for that?
for starters I don't give a ****, its your post. You asked how it isn't while only posting a screenshot supporting your claim. I gave you factual info of why it may not be so post the video man since you asked the question instead of telling me you saw a replay multiple times. Post a video of the play from start to finish if you really care why or why not it could be a block in the back. Either way the ACC officials are very inconsistent but its more so on there superiors that have points of emphasis, than replay, than the actual officials on the field.
 
1st) Triangulate the physical coordinates of the referee.

Just based on a wild guess it looks like South bend, in. The player you highlighted is wearing a gold helmet. Therefore that is a legal block.
 
for starters I don't give a ****, its your post. You asked how it isn't while only posting a screenshot supporting your claim. I gave you factual info of why it may not be so post the video man since you asked the question instead of telling me you saw a replay multiple times. Post a video of the play from start to finish if you really care why or why not it could be a block in the back. Either way the ACC officials are very inconsistent but its more so on there superiors that have points of emphasis, than replay, than the actual officials on the field.

Don’t be so touchy, ref. You gonna throw a flag at me?

“its more so on there superiors“ - you’re passing the buck. He’s right there looking at it...it's on him.

Here’s an earlier picture in the sequence that makes it pretty clear he was running up on him...

1DBB5A4A-E0D0-446C-BD3D-298DCE15518D.jpeg
 
Back
Top