Houston Briles vs Lashlee

AllAboutTheU13

Sophomore
Was curious if any play calling gurus on here could lay out some of the similarities and differences between Houston’s 2018 offense with Briles/King vs. Lashlee’s offense. Post-Auburn/Malzahn, Lashlee seems to be molding his offense in a similar way to what Briles ran at Houston. Very up-tempo, 11 personnel, lots of RPOs, explosive with lots of deep shots, pretty balanced at about 37 passes and 40 runs a game, extreme use of spreading out WRs to create space. But I’m not an expert so curious what you all think.

Advertisement
Interesting last comment. Although, it did at times, seem like he was drawing plays in the dirt against us last year. I never thought young Briles was anything special.

Go Canes!

Advertisement
Biggest differences are

1. Briles had a well-designed spread option run attack with a variety of concepts vs. Lashlee who preferred a simplified run game when he could get away with it. But one had King and the other had Buechele.

2. Lashlee uses design in the pass game with formations, alignments, concepts and routes that create easy reads and throws. Briles uses the same static spread formations and relies on pace and talent to get chunk vertical gains. It worked with King but often failed at FSU like when we played them and Orlovsky was criticizing them the whole game as our press corners blanketed Terry on the outside.

The biggest difference I've noted, based on FSU last year and three SMU games ive watched is the run game.
FSU did mainly inside zone, while Lashlee ran, power, inside zone, counters, an sweeps, jet sweeps etc.
I actually prefer Lashlee over young Briles by a lot. His timing is much better and relies on pace and space along with his playcalling, as opposed to the former.
Miami VS FSU, young Briles was giving the game away, he was as predictable as Richt was, just different plays. 3rd and long here comes the sideline deep shot.

Advertisement