Hal Mumme and The Pirate

Advertisement
Thanks for post. I didn't know where all this spread up tempo stuff came from.

"Let me diagram some plays here," he says. "I love this play. This is called the mesh. I once called this 53 consecutive times in a game."

I love reading about Mumme and Leach, those guys are crazy funny.

I just want Mumme to come listen to Jimmy Buffett and spend 6 days a week in Key West and call 3 plays over and over with our talent. Don't need him to recruit. Got plenty of dudes who can do that.

Advertisement
All those guys at one time were on the staff at Valdost State when I was a student/athlete there. Hal Mumme, Mike Leach, Tony Franklin, Guy Morrison, and Dana Holgerson (Grad. Asst.). What a KRAZY (at he time, lol) offense those guys built! Chris Hatcher (Harlon Hill Trophy winner) was our QB.

Advertisement
I actually thought we revolutionized college football in the 1980s - wish bone to pro-style, but what do I know.

I look at offenses like Oregon's and Auburn and they are no different schematically then 90's Nebraska, the only difference is tempo. The correlation runs similar to 3 wide, 1 back offenses which are like our offense under Erikson but again with a quicker tempo. However, teams who have a gifted athlete at QB will also run a little read option out of it.

I remember when Mumme was at UK, he was playing at the swamp against uf. They scored late to make it something like 52-35 Gaytors, Hal pointed at scoreboard to taunt spurrier . He took a moral victory putting up 30 + points .

No ***** were given that he was down three td's.

All those guys at one time were on the staff at Valdost State when I was a student/athlete there. Hal Mumme, Mike Leach, Tony Franklin, Guy Morrison, and Dana Holgerson (Grad. Asst.). What a KRAZY (at he time, lol) offense those guys built! Chris Hatcher (Harlon Hill Trophy winner) was our QB.

when were you there? I played at UNA...hated playing at Valdosta

Advertisement