Defense on our ball screens

SevenNSeven

Junior
Was wondering if someone with some more basketball knowledge than I can correlate the struggles of this team offensively to the way we're being guarded on the perimeter.

Seems to me our lack of size and athleticism at guard is killing us, in conjunction with defenses increasingly using the 'hedge and recover' method to defend us (In all honesty, the way opposing teams bigs can go out and initiate contact on our guards during screens to throw them off route, without it being called a foul, consistently ****es me off).

I've been a coach-L homer pretty consistently during his tenure here, but the lack of adaptation has me puzzled. I realize that he might be trying to make chicken salad from the chicken**** of our inconsistent guard play, but I feel that having the athleticism of Newton or Burnett at the 2 might help us out when teams try and beat the **** out of us on ball screens.

Advertisement
Our half court offense Is one of the worst I have ever watched. Unless we get transition buckets or the 3 ball is falling our offense is putrid

For one thing, we set awful screens, which doesn't help, and we set them way to high, (often in desperation way out on the perimeter)and the screener's are bad at pivoting and rolling.

Newton is a 1, not a 2.
I assume L has a plan but i agree the last 2 months have been very frustrating on both ends of the court. I just don't see the all around effort I would expect from a team trying to make the tournament.

For one thing, we set awful screens, which doesn't help, and we set them way to high, (often in desperation way out on the perimeter)and the screener's are bad at pivoting and rolling.
This.

Lots of our screens are just ghost screens. We don't body-up on any of them for fear of an offensive foul. We also don't have very athletic post players, so they can't slip and roll to the bucket or 3pt line like, say, Gamble or Kadji used to.