Can You Be A Canes Football Fan Without Being a Golden Fan?

Which are you? A Slurper or a Mope

• Total voters
Advertisement
I've been hanging around CanesInSight for almost two years now. I usually enjoy it because every one has their own opinion of what the program needs to do to get back to the top. Some fans bash others for supporting the team and therefore supporting Golden. Others put down those who criticize the team and especially the coaches. It's the mopes vs. the slurpers again and again and again. Most have interesting points of view and valid reasons for where they stand. Does it have to be so black and white?
I was a fan of Canes football long before Golden and company arrived, and I'll be a fan long after they are gone. My passion for the Canes is not defined by one coach or player. To be honest I'm not that big of a Golden fan. I was really impressed by him in the way he stood by our program during the Shapiro mess but the whole PSU thing in the spring wiped that all out. There are some things he's done well, and there are some things he needs a lot of help on. But I want him to be successful here because that means my Canes are winning. I have no desire to see the team go through another rebuilding phrase before Golden is successful here.
Some of the fans here want to see change quickly and the quickest way to that is for the team to lose and see the coach fired. I understand that way of thinking. I don't agree with it but I understand it. I will never root for the Canes to lose. Can't do it. If that makes me a Golden slurper, whatever. Sure would be nice to root for the Canes without being called that. Last time I looked, I root for the Miami Hurricanes, not the Miami Goldens.
Is it possible to root for the team and not be a mope or a slurper?