Joe Yearby and Mark Walton Usage in Passing Game

tinman_96

Redshirt Freshman
Hey guys, first post here. I'm a college student. Been following the site for the past year and decided to dive all the way in and create an account. I'm excited to see Richt's offense this year. I hope we use Yearby and Walton in the passing game. They are versatile match-up nightmare for linebackers and strong safeties. It was frustrated to see Coley's inept play calling. Having Philip Dorsett block on screen passes and never using duke in the passing game. Also as I see everyone here complaining about the O-line, a way to mask our awful pass blocking is a short passing attack. This is where Coley failed. He would call play with each receiver running double moves on a 5 step drop and Brad would get killed. So I hope that Yearby and Walton are used leaking about of the backfield, getting them the ball. It is one and one match-up with a linebacker. I'll take those two in the open field with a linebacker all day.
End of Rant.

Advertisement
I agree both are very versatile coming out of the backfield. Yearby might have the best hands on the team. I would like to see them on the field together in certain situations. Bottom line though neither have shown to be elite at running the ball. I know the line was horrid last year but great running backs can make bad lines look average. The entire team needs to make the next step.

Welcome. I'm interested to see what coach does with our RB's skill sets also. He did a good job taking advantage of Amp Lee & Warrick Dunn mismatches back in the day at FSU. It should be fun to watch. Enjoy the next 4years, time of your life. Although, the blur that was my 20's were pretty fun from what I understand. 30's too. Anywho, have a blast.

Go Canes!