#23 in initial SP+ ranking

We talkin bout preseason rankings??!?

1581602383705.png

Advertisement
My understanding of SP+ is that it's a quantitative metric without subjectivity, and therefore can't have "a crush" or any other sort of bias.
Don't forget, "figures don't lie but liars sure figure". It is entirely possible, and frequently does, to reach a given outcome by the mere selection of the metrics, the way they are measured, and the mystical "crunching" they are put through.

Hey, I have no knowledge about these people, nor do I care, but I have spent a lifetime answering that age old math question "how much is two plus two" with a simple "whatever you need it to be". Science is a ***** and will follow the money in a New York minute, which everyone KNOWS is shorter/faster than a minute anywhere else in the world.

Don't forget, "figures don't lie but liars sure figure". It is entirely possible, and frequently does, to reach a given outcome by the mere selection of the metrics, the way they are measured, and the mystical "crunching" they are put through.

Hey, I have no knowledge about these people, nor do I care, but I have spent a lifetime answering that age old math question "how much is two plus two" with a simple "whatever you need it to be". Science is a ***** and will follow the money in a New York minute, which everyone KNOWS is shorter/faster than a minute anywhere else in the world.

As someone who lived in Manhattan for 8 years, agreed. Which is exactly why I said I'd need to look at the formula to form an opinion. The thing with metrics such as this, is there are many, many ways to do the math, resulting in different outcomes. It's really up to the user to take it for what they perceive it to be worth.

Advertisement
If the offense is even Top 50 this thing changes a lot. I’d say that’s a pretty conservative offensive estimate. Defense was at 9, so that may be a little aggressive given the new LBs.