2022 WR Donaldson plans UM visit once campus opens up

View as article

Stefan Adams

Managing Editor
Premium
After a great day at practice in late January, 2022 Gulliver Prep (FL) 3-star WR De’Carlo Donaldson earned an offer from the Miami Hurricanes when the UM staff visited him at his school to watch him play.

“It was a very great moment,” Donaldson said of the Miami offer. “The U is actually one of my dream colleges, it was a college I’ve always wanted the opportunity to go to. So it was a very amazing moment.”

Two weeks later, the coaches invited Donaldson to attend UM’s junior day, which was an event where tons of recruits from all over the state visited campus. Even though he didn’t get much facetime with the staff, Donaldson says he has seen plenty at Miami already as a frequent visitor to Coral Gables.

“They wanted me to go there for junior day, but it was kind of hectic to talk with the coaches and stuff because there was so many recruits, also because I’m a sophomore and not really a junior,” Donaldson said. “But I’ve been to the campus plenty of times, that was the 8th or 9th time. The campus is very nice, especially the indoor facilities.”

During the quarantine, campuses across the country are locked down, but when things finally open back up for recruiting visits, Donaldson is looking to follow up his junior day experience at Miami with another trip to the local school.

“First, of course I’m going to take another trip to see the hometown team, see the campus again,” Donaldson said. “I probably might go to South Carolina after that. I like the fact that South Carolina loves big receivers.”

Ultimately, Donaldson sees the atmosphere and close connections at UM as something that gives him high interest in joining the program.