Owens Excited for 2014 Class

View as article

Tito Benach

Staff Writer
Premium
2014 Oakleaf (Fla.) linebacker Darrion Owens has been working out with his team and individually in hopes of finishing his senior year the best way possible.

“Right now, we are just working out. Monday through Thursday like working out in the weight room and then after we will go out and run around. I also workout with my brother and we use his gym and do stuff in there.”

Owens hasn’t always been a linebacker as he was a safety last year for his team. Despite the change, he feels there are certain things that help him make the transition easier.

“I can cover a lot better, since I worked as a DB and also I know what’s going on behind me and I know what I have to do and not worry about what’s going on behind me.

The 6’4 222 pound linebacker gave his pledge to the University of Miami early in the summer and has stayed in contact with the coaches ever since.

“My commitment is still strong since the day that I committed. I always talk to them through emails and stuff and I’m going up there to visit on August 11th for the barbecue.”

August 11th happens to be Senior Day for the Hurricanes and the Oakleaf product is excited to not only meet up with future teammates but also enjoy his time in Miami.

“I’m just looking to have a good time and meet up with some of my future players and teammates.”

Owens has payed attention to the Hurricanes recruiting efforts and truly believes this team can compete at the national level.

“I found out that we were number 4 in the rankings, I was really excited about that. So I was thinking around our junior year or senior year of college we won’t be able to be stopped. I know our linebacking core is going to be really strong too.”

Owens has a trip planned for Miami and August 11th, but it seems like he won’t be taking anymore after that.

“I’ll probably just gonna go to Miami for a visit and thats it.”

Advertisement