'Canes after JUCO WR Lauderdale

View as article

Peter Ariz

All American
Premium
2014 Saddleback C.C. (Ca.) WR Eric Lauderdale (6'2", 200) had a circuitous path to where he is today. Originally from Fayetteville, Georgia, Lauderdale has blossomed into one of the top Junior College receivers in the country.

"I graduated in 2011 and I didn't qualify out of high school so I was going to go to Junior College, but I found out about prep school and I decided to do that because I would have been able to do a year or semester and you get to go to a division-1 school as a freshman. When I went to the prep school (Hargrave Military Academy), things didn't work out as I had planned and I had to go home because the family that was paying for me to go there didn't have the rest of the money for me to finish school. I had to start over fresh at Junior College," said Lauderdale.

The 4-star wideout's stock has risen greatly since high school.

"I had some offers, but if I would have gone to the camps then I would have had more. I had regular offers like Indiana, Middle Tennessee, Vanderbilt, and Tulane. They just wanted me to qualify. I've gotten a lot better over the past couple years so more schools are after me."

How has Lauderdale been able to handle this newfound attention?

"It's crazy. I'm getting a phone call everyday from a coach or someone wanting an interview. In high school, I would get a call every now and then, but now it's everyday which is cool. I don't mind it."

Lauderdale admits he wasn't crazy about having to go the Junior College route, but in the long run he thinks it will help him.

"I didn't want to go to Junior College when I graduated and nobody really wants to do the two years and have to transfer, but it puts you on the right track. I know you only get two years after Junior College, but you go into it ready to play."

As far as recruiting goes, the versatile receiver is keeping his options open.